You are here: Home / Plan Your Studies / Danish Qualification Framework for Higher Education

Danish Qualification Framework for Higher Education

All forms of education in Denmark are graded in a qualification framework with a number from 1 to 8. For example, elementary school is level 1 and higher education is graded at levels 5, 6, 7 and 8.

The Danish Qualifaction Framework for Higher Education is part of the Danish framework for lifelong learning, which is a comprehensive, systematic overview of officially approved degrees and certificates that can be taken in the Danish education system.

What is a qualification framework?

Something is learned from all forms of education. Additional education provides additional knowledge and skills.

What it is

Grading qualifications in a framework provides information about the knowledge, skills and competences that can be gained. The framework makes it possible to compare Danish qualifications with qualifications from other countries.

Degrees and certificates are graded at the 8 levels on the basis of the knowledge, skills and competences achieved on the education programme.

For example, Applied Science degrees, Diploma degrees and Master degrees are graded at levels 5-7.

Certificates are awarded in the rest of the education system. These can be, e.g. hhx or carpenters. Certificates are graded at levels 1-5.

Comparable frameworks exist in other EU countries. This makes it easier to understand, compare and recognise qualifications across Europe.

Knowledge, skills and competencies

A qualification framework level is composed of three parts:

  • Your knowledge and experience, including what you have read and learnt and what you have understood.
  • Your practical skills, which are all that you can do and perform with your hands and body.
  • Your competencies, which are the way you use your knowledge and skills.

The things you know (your theory, understanding, experience, education) combined with your skills (practical) give you the ability to act.

What you can do is the sum of your knowledge and abilities.

Professional knowledge (education) combined with professional ability provide professional competencies. The way you use them, shows how clever you are.

When you do something, you gain experience that increases your knowledge and ability. When you receive an education, you know more and are capable of more. So you can do even more. You become better.

Lifelong learning

All education, whatever the level, provides knowledge and skills. Knowledge is necessary to perform a job and to learn even more.

Your knowledge and skills enable you to act and to do some of the things you wish, or that are expected of you. It is therefore important that you continue to learn throughout your life.

Your education

Higher education contains qualifications at levels 5, 6 and 7. Finally, there is a research qualification (PhD) at level 8.

At the higher level, you can choose:

  • Applied programmes
  • Professional bachelor degrees
  • Bachelor degrees, usually followed by a master degree
  • Higher education in the areas of art and culture
  • Training as a merchant navy officer
  • Officer in the Army
  • Officer in the Air Force
  • Pilot in the Air Force (not accepting applications)
  • Officer in the Navy
  • Linguist in the armed forces
  • Policeman/policewoman
  • Chaos pilot

These courses require completed secondary education, often with specific requirements.

Higher education typically takes between two and five years.

If you choose applied programmes, you can supplement this with eux in order to qualify for a degree programme.

Learn more

Read more about the Danish Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning: